Salone News

Sierra Leone: Final Batch of Ministers Announced

By  | 18 February 2013 at 00:09 | 2017 views

President Ernest Koroma has appointed and announced the much-awaited final batch of Government Ministers yesterday evening. There are some new faces in this new group also just like the last one. Of note is Dr. Matthew Teambo, the new Labour Minister who was an APC member of Parliament for Tonkolili district (Yoni chiefdom and its environs), and Tourism and Culture Minister Peter Bayuku Konte (a former Koinadugu local government official).

Other interesting appointments are Sylvia Blyden, publisher of the Awareness Times newspaper (Special Executive Assistant to the President), youth activist Ishmael Al-Sankoh (Deputy Sports Minister), former local government official from Kailahun district Augustine Nyuma Kortu (Deputy Labour and Social Security Minister), prominent women activist Dr. Harriet Turay and writer and political activist Karamoh Kabba (Deputy Minister of Political and Public Affairs).

Karamoh, from Kono district, was an avid contributor to the Patriotic Vanguard when he was living in Maryland, United States of America. He played a significant role with his fiery pen through the pages of this newspaper during the 2007 election that President Koroma won. He also played a role in last year’s election.

Sylvia Blyden is an asset to the government and pro-APC media and her newspaper, the Awareness Times, is expected to continue to play a role in the realization of the president’s Agenda for Prosperity.

Port Loko district political firebrand Kemoh Sesay (photo) returns to the limelight once again as Minister of Political and Public Affairs. Other people in the list were already ministers (re-appointed) or re-assigned to other ministries. Here is a full list of the appointees:

Dr. Matthew Teambo – Labour & Social Security

Mr. Alimamy Kamara – Youth Affairs

Mr. Paul Kamara – Sports

Alhaji Ibrahim Kemoh Sesay – Political & Public Affairs

Mr. Peter Bayuku Konte – Tourism & Culture


Mrs. Harriet Turay – Office of the Vice-President


Mr. Augustine Nyuma Kortu – Labour & Social Security

Miss Feremusu Konte – Youth Affairs

Mr. Ishmail Al-Sankoh Conteh – Sports

Mr. Karamoh Kabba – Political & Public Affairs

Miss Kadi Sesay – Tourism & Culture


Professor Monty Jones – Special Adviser & Ambassador-at-Large

Alhaji Ibrahim Ben Kargbo – Special Adviser

Ambassador Dauda Kamara – Special Adviser

Dr. Sylvia Blyden – Special Executive Assistant to the President.

Karamoh Kabba

Sylvia Blyden