Canada News

26th Annual BBPA Harry Jerome Awards (26th April, 2008)

17 March 2008 at 01:55 | 1399 views

About the BBPA Harry Jerome Awards
The first BBPA Harry Jerome Awards were held in 1983 to honour: Angella Taylor-Issajenko, Ben Johnson, Mark McKoy, Milt Ottey, Tony Sharpe
and Desai Williams, the six Black Canadian athletes who excelled at the 1982 Commonwealth Games.

The BBPA Harry Jerome Awards celebrate
excellence in Canada’s Black community and is one of the most prestigious events in Canada.
A highly valued symbol of achievement, the Harry Jerome Award is a coveted possession of the business people, legislators, professionals, athletes,
academics, artists and community leaders who have received it.

Award recipients are selected from among Canada-wide nominees recommended by
business and professional colleagues, teachers, relatives and friends. Awards are presented in thirteen categories:
�� Arts, Media & Entertainment �� Community Service �� Health Sciences �� Lifetime Achievement �� President’s Award �� Professional Excellence
�� Technology & Innovation �� Trailblazer Award �� Young Entrepreneur �� Youth - Academics �� Youth - Athletics �� Youth - Leadership.

Notable winners include former lieutenant governor of Ontario Lincoln Alexander, Senator Donald Oliver, entrepreneurs Denham Jolly and the
late Beverley Mascoll, human rights advocate and former M.P.P the late Dr. Rosemary Brown and Olympic gold medalist Donovan Bailey.
The BBPA Harry Jerome Awards is a formal dinner and awards gala that includes a program of contemporary dance, urban and gospel music