Canada News

2008 BBPA Harry Jerome Award Winners

29 March 2008 at 05:14 | 1907 views

The Black Business and Professional Association (BBPA) proudly unveiled the 2008 winners for the 26th Annual BBPA Harry Jerome Awards during a press preview and reception March 25, held at the prestigious Perdiot Resto Lounge in Toronto, to launch the Award Gala’s 26th year.

“These recipients represent the true meaning of brilliance and distinction in the African Canadian community,” says BBPA Harry Jerome Awards Chair, Karlyn Percil, “they symbolize excellence and the quality of the fabric that the black business and professional community is.” After receiving a record-breaking number of nominations for 2008, the BBPA is honoured to introduce this distinguished and remarkable group of outstanding individuals.

The BBPA Harry Jerome Awards is recognized as the premier national award gala in the African Canadian Community and a coveted symbol of achievement. The winners will receive awards in thirteen categories: Academics, Arts, Athletics, Community Service, Entertainment, Health Sciences, Leadership, Lifetime Achievement, Media, the President’s award, Professional Excellence, Technology & Innovation and the Trailblazer Award.

The BBPA is proud to honour and celebrate the following award winners:

- Academics Award - Vera Manu

- Arts Award - Cheryl Foggo

- Athletics Award - Anne Olukemi Ogundele

- Community Service Award - Roger Rowe

- Entertainment Award - Anthony Sherwood

- Health Sciences Award - Dr. Stephen Blizzard

- Leadership Award - Charles Oforia Attah

- Lifetime Achievement Award - Willie O’Ree

- Media Award - Marci Ien

- President’s Award - Dr. Chris Spence

- Professional Excellence Award - Njoki Wane

- Technology & Innovation Award - Warren Salmon

- Trailblazer Award - Dr. Alex MacGregor

The 26th Annual BBPA Harry Jerome Awards will be held on Saturday April 26, 2008 at the Toronto Congress Centre, 650 Dixon Road, Toronto.

Tickets for the Harry Jerome Awards are $150. To place an order, please call (416)504-4097 or purchase online at

About the BBPA Harry Jerome Awards

Established in the memory of Harry Jerome, an outstanding African Canadian Olympic athlete, scholar and social advocate, the BBPA Harry Jerome Awards is an annual celebration of African Canadian achievement that pays tribute to outstanding and inspirational African Canadians who are truly role models of excellence.

Now in its 26th year the BBPA Harry Jerome Awards has recognized the achievements of almost 300 outstanding African Canadians to date. Notable winners include former lieutenant governor of Ontario Lincoln Alexander, Senator Donald Oliver, entrepreneurs Denham Jolly and the late Beverley Mascoll, human rights advocate and former M.P.P the late Dr. Rosemary Brown, renowned jazz pianist Oscar Peterson and Olympic gold medalist Mark McCoy.

Organized by the Black Business and Professional Association, the 26th Annual BBPA Harry Jerome Awards are sponsored by presenting sponsor RBC Financial Group, BMO Financial Group, CGA of Ontario, CIBC, Ford Canada Ltd., McDonald’s Restaurants, Scotiabank Financial Group, State Farm Insurance Company, SWAY, TD Bank Financial Group, Ontario Ministry of Citizenship & Immigration, CBC and Planet Africa.

Photo: Roger Rowe, one of the awardees.