Salone News

Three Political Parties Declare Assets

11 July 2007 at 02:09 | 356 views

By Jonathan Leigh.

Of the seven political parties contesting the
Presidential and Parliamentary elections, only three
have fulfilled the Political Parties Registration
Commission code of declaring their assets, Justice
Sydney Warne, Chairman of the PPRC disclosed yesterday
at the ceremony at NEC Headquarters to signal the
start of elections campaign, a ceremony witnessed by
political party representatives and members of the
civil society. The three are the SLPP, the APC and the PMDC.

George Coldridge-Taylor, Chairman of the National
Commission for Human Rights and Democracy, who also
chaired the ceremony, commended the police for their
good work and appealed to media institutions to be
objective in their reporting and commentaries so as to
avoid creating tension in the country.

On behalf of the Inspector-General of Police,
Assistant Inspector-General Richard Moigbeh expressed
appreciation so far to the political parties for
working with the police to enhance a free, fair
and peaceful election.

He reminded the gathering that they have the manpower and logistics to police the election, insisting that they have a command structure which covers the Western Area and all the provinces.

Performing the official launching, NEC Chairperson,
Dr. Christiana Thorpe catalogued the activities of the
commission over the past year, including boundary
delimitation, voter registration exercise,
establishment of the electoral courts, elimination
process on to the declaration of the official campaign period.