All Roads Lead to Ghana: 2008 Nations Cup

24 March 2007 at 11:03 | 1692 views

The African Nations Cup is without doubt the greatest sporting spectacle on the continent.
The two-year marathon that is the qualifying campaign for the 2008 finals in Ghana finishes in September 2007.

Each group winner qualifies automatically for Ghana where they will be joined by the top three runners-up from the groups made up of four teams.

Egypt are the reigning African champions. The Pharaohs won a record fifth Nations Cup title when they beat the Ivory Coast this year.

Group 1: Gabon, Ivory Coast, Madagascar.

Group 2: Mauritania, Egypt, Burundi, Botswana.

Group 3: Uganda, Niger, Nigeria, Lesotho.

Group 4: Sudan, Seychelles, Tunisia, Mauritius.

Group 5: Cameroon, Equatorial Guinea, Liberia, Rwanda.

Group 6: Angola, Kenya, Eritrea, Swaziland.

Group 7: Burkina Faso, Senegal, Tanzania, Mozambique.

Group 8: Gambia, Algeria, Guinea, Cape Verde.
Group 9: Togo, Mali, Sierra Leone, Benin.

Group 10: DR Congo, Ethiopia, Namibia, Libya.

Group 11: Zambia, South Africa, Congo, Chad.

Group 12: Malawi, Morocco, Zimbabwe.

Phtoto: Bafana Bafana, South Africa’s national soccer team.

Credit: BBC African Service.